Annual General Meeting

Our Annual General Meeting was successfully held last Thursday 12th January in the clubrooms. There was a great turnout and I would like to thank all who braved the elements and attended. 

The Secretary’s Report

Martina McKeown presented her annual report which was divided into the following sections senior team, reserve team and minor team achievements, county minors, underage structures, details of our ASAP policy, financial affairs, property development, administration, club membership, Scor competitions, public relations, sponsorship, referees, outgoing officers, bereavements, get well wishes and looking to the future. She highlighted there were many highs and lows, for the club and community with the highlight being the amalgamation at minor level with the Killeevan club to form Rock Sarsfields and winning the division 2 league title. She pointed out that our senior team performed well over the year and reached the penultimate stages of both league and championship and appealed to all players to make a renewed effort and give full support and commitment to the management of 2012 to achieve their full potential.  

Youth Officer Report

With regards to our juvenile teams Pascal Smyth gave a detailed account of all the events and achievements of our underage teams during 2011 and presented his report under the following headings Go Games, under 12 team, under 14 team, under 16 team, under 18 team, juvenile coaching, code of best practice & volunteerism, Bosco Carroll memorial cup. He paid tribute to all the underage coaches for their efforts in coaching and looking after our young players over the course of a fun-filled year of activities and he also thanked referees who officiated at blitz sessions. He stressed the importance of building up a strong coaching culture in the club and urged more club members, including parents, current players, retired players to show a willingness to gain coaching qualifications in order to sustain a vibrant youth section and ensure the long-term viability of the club into the future.

Treasurer’s Report

Tina Rooney presented her financial report which again was very comprehensive and gave an item by item account of our income and expenditure over the past year. She  highlighted the revenue generated from our Top 4 lotto sales accounts for 50% with the balance being produced by other fund raising events such as the vintage hay festival, treasurer hunt, Rock country night, Come Dine for Rock night, membership, soccer tournament etc. Regarding our expenditure it was very evident from the spreadsheets that insurance & affiliation’s along with injuries and physiotherapy treatment costs remains a significant constraint on the club. She emphasized the importance of administering the GAA injury scheme properly to ensure the club can reclaim medical & operation costs and not be left exposed.

Chairman’s Address

During the course of the chairman’s address Jimmy McGeough reflected on the teams achievements throughout the year. He said the club owed a huge debt of gratitude to the senior team management of Cormac McFadden, Michael Conlon and David McGregor for the endless hours they put in to prepare the team during 2011.

On the reserve team he pointed out that they found the going tough after gaining promotion last year. He stated the standard of football in division 3 was much higher than division 4 but they gave a good account of themselves on the field of play.  He thanked Anthony Tate and Garry Calvert for their enthusiasm they brought to the management of the reserve team.

On the minor front he stated that the club amalgamated with Killeevan to form Rock-Sarsfields and highlighted that this group of lads blended well and had a very successful year winning the division 2 league cup. He said the standard of football in division 2 was a very high standard and the experienced gained will be a great benefit to both sets of players in years to come. Regarding the championship he made reference to the never-to-be-forgotten trilogy of matches against Magheracloone where they were eventually beaten by a last minute goal. He paid tribute to the team mentors Pascal Smyth, Enda Kilpatrick, Jim Graham, Adrian Thompson for their commitment during the year

 He then moved onto the juvenile section of the club and expressed that this was a very important part of the club. Many people give endlessly of their time to instill the basic skills of the game. He thanked all underage mentors in recognition of the immense voluntary commitment of time and effort they devoted to promote and nurture our games at the grass root level. He thanked Pascal Smyth and his sub-committee for administering the juvenile affairs of the club and he also thanked the Carroll family for donating a lovely cup in memory of Bosco Carroll who was a great servant of the club.

 Regarding the financial affairs he thanked the members who sell the Top 4 lotto and appealed to club members for a greater need to participant and help out with the raising funds. He thanked Bridie & Aidan Sheridan, Noreen Calvert and Mickey Friary who continue to make an invaluable contribution towards the club with their efforts. He thanked the local community and beyond for supporting the lotto and stated it was very much appreciated during these difficult and challenging times.

 He thanked club secretary Martina McKeown for her work and assistance during the year and he also thanked club treasurer Tina Rooney who took care of the clubs finances with great care and attention.

 He thanked Ann Carroll for taking care of the jerseys and he knows the lads appreciate putting on spanking clean and fresh jerseys.

 He acknowledged the great work of Anthony Clerkin and Seamus Tate for looking after the pitch and lining out the field before matches and he thanked our gate man Mickey Friary for his unselfish work in carrying out a demanding job.

 He extended his deepest sympathy to all club members who suffered bereavements during the year in particular to the families of Francie Joe McPhillips, James Keely, Joe Patterson and Caoimhe McCormick.

 Finally, he wished the players involved at county level the very best of luck in their endeavors to nail down a place on the county team and wished the club all the best in 2012. He expressed that this was a very important year for the club. We have the players to make a challenging effort to win a trophy. He said it was up to the committee, management and players to put their shoulder to the wheel and do something special.

Election of Officers

The election of officers was as follows; President Canon G. Ferguson, Chairman Jimmy McGeough, Vice Chairman Ollie McQuillan Secretary Martina McKeown, Assistant Secretary Siobhan McQuillan, Treasurer Tina Rooney, Assistant Treasurer Ann Carroll, PRO Michael Carroll, Players Representative Mark Daly, Youth Officer Pascal Smyth, Registrar Pat Brannigan, Irish & Cultural Officer Martina McKeown, Committee Members Sean Rooney, Tom Daly, Hugh McGuirk, Anthony Clerkin, Sean McCormill.

The following positions were not filled Under 21 delegate and the ASAP Officer and will be appointed in due course.